top of page
  • 仲胜 陈

They are New Every Morning

A good day starts with a good morning; being able to wake up without the sound of the alarm, being able to look out the window and see the rising of the sun, being able to breathe the morning air. As the cloud fills the sky, bringing in the first rain, it marks the start of another busy year. Like a Chinese poem that reads:


“Good rain knows when to fall, during the beginning of spring.

It falls quietly during the night, and carefully nurtures the earth.”


The falling of rain reminds me of the time of sowing, the Bible records, “But the ones that fell on the good ground are those who, having heard the word with a noble and good heart, keep it and bear fruit with patience.” (Luke 8:15). If the sown seed could fall into the good soil, it can grow healthily, and produce a hundred-fold. I hope that I can be the good soil, have a truthful and kind heart, and allow the seed of salvation to bud and grow. I hope that this growth will grant me strength, to overcome the peaks and valleys of life.


When we feel weak, we should pray to God, as He is the almighty God – the help in times of need (Hebrews 4:16). There are times where I hear words that cause me to feel unfairly treated, and times when I experience heart-piercing matters that cause me to worry. However, I know the God I serve is one that searches the heart of men. He knows the sufferings I have been through, and what I truly feel. Just as a prophet said, “O Lord, You have pleaded the case for my soul; You have redeemed my life.” (Lamentations 3:58). I know that if I tell all my worries to God, and fully entrust everything to Him, it will be accepted. Therefore, I must develop the habit of praying every day, calmly telling God everything and entrusting everything to Him through prayer and thanksgiving, He will grant me peace and joy daily.


“This I recall to my mind, therefore I have hope. Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness.” (Lamentations 3:21-23)


When Jeremiah was feeling helpless, he remembered God’s love and mercy, causing his hope to be revived. In Psalm 30:5 it says, “For His anger is but for a moment, His favor is for life; weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.” Though the night may be dark, we know that as the night draws on, it is getting closer to the morning light. God’s love and mercy is great – they are new every morning. Though the sufferings I face in life may be unbearable at certain moments, His grace comforts me every morning, as long as I trust in Him.


I must be mindful of my words, thoughts, and actions. As the prophet says, “Let us search out and examine our ways, and turn back to the Lord; let us lift our hearts and hands to God in heaven.” (Lamentations 3: 40-41). I know that I must, even more, turn my eyes on God during times of anxiety and anger, because He has great love and salvation.


“Why are you cast down, O my soul? And why are you disquieted within me? Hope in God; for I shall yet praise Him, The help of my countenance and my God.” (Psalm 43:5)


Though God is filled with abundant love, He is also a just God. He is not easily angered, and has abundant grace, however, He will still punish those with sin. He will punish them but is also willing to patiently wait for their return. I understand that I cannot take God’s forgiveness for granted and do as I wish – as God will settle accounts and chastise us.


Those doing wicked deeds do not know to be vigilant, and they cannot cover up their mistakes. Will God not know the hearts of those that are unwilling to repent? As men, we cannot doubt God’s justice because we have not received punishment for our wicked deeds. I have made mistakes in my life, and can understand the saying, “No one is perfect, everyone makes mistakes”. Nevertheless, those that believe in God are different from unbelievers. We must always remember that God is in our hearts and we should not continue to do wrong. If we do commit sin, we must repent before God. I must learn to become righteous in the eyes of God, as the steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord, and their mouth is a well of life. Whatever they say will edify, and their path is broad, like a lamp lighting the path.


“But the path of the just is like the shining sun, that shines ever brighter unto the perfect day.” (Proverbs 4:18)


Life is like being on a boat, not everything is smooth sailing. I must learn to be courageous when facing different setbacks, while also having a thankful heart. In this manner, the love and mercy of God will not leave me, rather as time passes, it will reflect the growth and maturation of my faith. I must continue to reflect on my relationship with God, desire to draw close to Him, keep a reverent heart, stay away from wicked things, and continuously maintain a heart of thanksgiving, allowing Him to lead my way.



26 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page